Skip to content

STARSHIP

March 8, 2012

LAUNCH TO INNER SPACE

My “Mars Voyager” post examined a Martian journey from an earthly viewpoint.  Comparing earthly travel experiences to the distances of planetary travel does not rule out the possibility.  On land Abraham left his father’s house and created three nations of faith.  The Phoenicians, Polynesians, and Vikings sailed the vast oceans even before Columbus.  Safety and caution had little to do with the ventures attempted by early man.  Still the Viking and some later colonies often disappeared because of the logistics of vast distances.    

Future voyages may venture out with adequate provisions for a journey of the ages.  One group of adventurers has already been equipped and launched on such a stellar voyage.  Looking up from their control systems they may see the heavens, or even some alien life forms passing by. 

On the great starship one crew member may venture outside the structure for an EVA.  He can watch the heavens revolve through the seasons of his life.  His protective gear (clothing) limits movement and dexterity.  He would require more gear, except this ideal vessel has a gravity system to retain magnetic and gaseous shielding.  The vessel is holding orbit around a star, which is circling in a great pinwheel galaxy.  That galaxy is moving in relation to others, so the current speed is relative to your choice of reference points in the universe.  Moving about the outer surface of the vessel does not reveal the total velocity due to the vastness of the surrounding universe. 

As this is a large vessel, we have transporters on the surface, and only a few internal transporters, unlike the Starship Enterprise.  We do not yet have robotic transportation except for a few systems.  So movement of equipment and personnel is done by these surface transporters.  Still this large size allows us to maintain a complete environment of plants and animals to supply our journey.  Any repairs are made with materials carried on board for the journey.  Could we build a more amazing system than the one we were born on?

 

When we prepare to leave the surface of this vessel (earth) to organize a new one, we challenge the very gravity that protects us.  Perhaps it is partially provided to restrain our mad lust for such voyages.  Still, we will take that step when it becomes necessary.  Travels on the earth demonstrate the variety of environments that could exist on other planets.  Life provides circumstances that could one day force us to launch a new colony.

When my father passed away, I offered that my brother could have the house.  I didn’t expect him to move his family in before I could move out.  I was motivated to run away from home.  In years of army life and contract work I learned how to organize a move.  But this move was done on short notice, much as the exodus of ancient Israel.  Everything was tossed into a U-haul van because my car had died earlier.  I moved to a low rent motel suite, and bought a (tiny) trailer to live in.  I bought a new off road vehicle to tow it while I seek a new home.   I am prepared to leave my father’s house to rediscover the faith of Abraham.  The splendid views of heaven and earth declare the glory of this starship and its endless oceans.  Their perfect balance declares the glory of their creator.

 

I cannot yet traverse those outer seas of space, but I can shrink my life into a tiny vessel of exploration as an earthly sampler of future voyages.  I have already witnessed this starship earth from earlier voyages of life.  What designs took me to Germany and Vietnam during the conflicts of the twentieth century?  How did my career take me from coast to coast for years of my contract career?  Now I can choose my destinations and the duration of my visits in my semi-retirement.  I can contribute designs for the space faring future while experiencing the beauty that remains on this original starship.

Life offers me freedom to find the right home for my business and retirement.  To find that future I have compressed my life down from a 2000 square foot home down to living out of a suitcase.  This new module offers me a little more comfort, while actually reducing my available living space down to about 100 square feet. 

You may follow my journey in technical adventures on Facebook;  http://www.facebook.com/groups/110821682303324/    and in spiritual explorations here:  http://wordtrail.wordpress.com/

We should hope that we never have to leave the earth due to a disaster.  Hasty packing and planning is exhausting and costly.  But when the need comes I am confident that man will be able to survive.  My little toy hauler was chosen to provide the smallest possible housing with the cargo area available to become a lab and shop for new designs.  It has a 16 gallon fuel tank for the generator, and a pump and hose if the tow vehicle needs fuel.  It can run in wilderness areas for a good long time.  I hope to establish a good mobile web link to keep the new designs coming while I see the stars we are reaching for.

 

David “Lunar Rover” Luther

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

