Skip to content

CAPTAIN’S LOG ENTRY EARTH DATE 2300 HRS 08 MAY 2012

May 8, 2012

50TH ANNIVERSARY

Fifty years ago this October United States Air Force Officers huddled in an underground room at this console awaiting orders to launch an Atlas missile towards the Soviet Union. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cuban_Missile_Crisis

 At the same time Russian navy officers may have been preparing to do the same from this submarine.  Today these are all rusting relics of a horrible waste of time and energy. 

 I was in high school at that time, wearing a winter coat made in Czechoslovakia.   In six years I would be hiding from bullets made in the same place, possibly from the money we spent on my coat.  I was filling sandbags in Vietnam when a man walked on the moon.

Today two nations have tried to help Afghanistan to develop a friendly government and failed.  Both nations are facing presidential elections this year, and neither has a worthy candidate to offer.  As a Christian, I retain hope that a king will come to resolve this need.  We don’t seem to learn without his help.

In July of 1990 The Soviet Union demonstrated their Mig 29 at an air show in Kalamazoo Michigan, the first stop on US soil for Soviet fighters ever.  My boys Royal Ranger outpost from Livonia Michigan Assembly of God delivered Russian language bibles to them at that time.  I know that there are people of faith even in places where official policy would offer no hope.  http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=110&dat=19900706&id=4SxQAAAAIBAJ&sjid=71UDAAAAIBAJ&pg=5721,275999

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mig_29_Fulcrum_-_Kalamazoo_Air_Zoo_Airshow_(2).jpg

Who would have imagined that those Atlas rockets would still be flying today…on Russian engines?  I arrived in this Cold War relic at a time when space exploration needs new direction.  These old tools can now be used to form new paradigms in aerospace design.  I have learned that the state of Wyoming is making a great effort to bring aerospace industry to their location.  Other states are also trying, but regulatory problems, and taxation may defeat some efforts.  Ventures that succeed seem to draw efforts from diverse areas together to work around these issues.

If big aerospace draws assets from diverse former enemies, should regional disputes defeat our new space efforts?  These states at least should remain united.  I find a collaboration here between Colorado, Wyoming, and California has evolved because customers have needs from each area’s unique offerings.  My venture has aerodynamic needs that may not be assembled in this one location, so I will continue to gather assets on my journey.  But for incorporation and living, I find this area familiar and attractive.  Not everyone will, and I may retain my snowbird credentials to visit Arizona in the winter!

The installation today has a lot of heavy equipment, safe test facilities, and a warm welcome from the community of Chugwater Wyoming.  Just don’t scare the cows!  Tim Bendel welcomed us and showed us around his venture site.

GATEWAY TO THE NEW FRONTIER

FIERCE GUARD DOG (LICKED MY HAND THROUGH THE FENCE)

FOREBODING APPROACH

LARAMIE ROSE VTOL CRAFT AND SUPPLIES

WHERE ATLAS WAS ONCE RAISED TO VERTICAL 

 UNDER BLAST DOORS THAT NO LONGER OPEN

NEW ENGINES NOW EASILY FIRE IN A COMPLETELY ENCLOSED STAND.

DOORS AT THE ENDS ALLOW EXHAUST TO VENT WITH NO FIRE RISK TO THE SURROUNDING COMMUNITY GRASSLANDS

AND TIM CAN PARK HIS RV SAFELY INSIDE DURING TORNADO WARNINGS

 WYOMING IS MAKING A SERIOUS BID ON MY FUTURE…

BUT EVERY STATE NEEDS TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE FUTURE OF THESE UNITED STATES.

From → NEW SPACE

2 Comments
  1. chancwj permalink

    Congratulations to you. I just spent several hours reading your entire blog history. I think your designs are awesome. Good luck on your journey, and if you happen to pass by Waco in your travels please give me a call. We’ve got some great model aircraft shows. http://hotmacrc.org/

    I would like to offer my engineering services should you need them. Free of charge. I can provide Finite Element Analysis for structures and I have access to trajectory simulation and optimization software. I’m also working on some CFD capabilities.

    Have you thought about NASA’s Nano Satellite Launch Challenge? It could be a great first target to refine your designs. I think an air breathing horizontal takeoff reusable booster is the best path for making orbital launch more affordable. Personally I favor a combined cycle approach that uses rocket and ramjet operation.

Leave a Reply

