Skip to content

CAPTAIN’S LOG ENTRY EARTH DATE 1600 HRS 18 MAY 2012

May 18, 2012

ROAMING IN WYOMING; LET’S MAKE A DEAL!

The state of Wyoming offers help to new aerospace ventures.  They will pay to help frame bids to the Federal Government for contracts, and help target the right submission format.  To be a resident will allow me to incorporate here where there are no personal or corporate income taxes.  Tim Bendel and Frontier Astronautics are colaborating with the University of Colorado as I am.  This is all good news to a small venture like mine.  It is not easy to wade through the mess on federal web sites to get connected.  WYOMING WILL HELP:

http://uwadmnweb.uwyo.edu/SBIR/

http://uwadmnweb.uwyo.edu/SBIR/Phase0program.html

http://will.state.wy.us/sis/grants/

http://www.wyomingbusiness.org/program/loan-programs/1265

http://www.widcfrontier.com/loans.php

http://www.sba.gov/about-offices-content/2/3160

http://www.wyomingbusiness.org/

http://www.wyomingbusiness.org/program/trade-show-incentive-grant-program/5877

I don’t need that much incentive, since my family is from western Nebraska, not so far away.  Family visits in past years left many happy memories of rural living.  Wyoming adds mountains to the prairie mix for the best of big sky country.  Frontier Astronautics are in Chugwater, but I find more retail stores and services in Wheatland.  There is a hospital, senior services, and a good gym.  Wheatland is a bit bigger than most towns out here, and offers good neighborhoods and high home values.  That may be my problem.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheatland,_Wyoming

I would love to throw money at a retirement home, but I need to keep some back for the business and emergencies.  To keep my investment low and become a resident is a bit of a challenge.  My first discovery was a pair of buildings on a lot outside the city limits.  These look like a great facility for a small airframe fabrication, but I will not have a place to live.  My residence is more important initially than my potential fabrication needs.

Then I discovered a farm between Wheatland and Chugwater, with a low price.  Buildings and housing on one 3 acre site.  I love the scenery, with bluffs nearby and mountain views in the west.  Big skies, farms, and ranches give a real dose of nature.  Seeing the outside revealed some new electrical work and newer windows.  An inside tour revealed a useless floor plan and some serious repair and exterminator needs.  Drive distance to retail stores and services was a bit much as well.

The electrician may have signed his work here;  T.H.O.M.A.S. A. E.D.I.S.O.N.

OK, a cabin in the mountains is not so good for retail access either, but I had to see six acres on a mountain top.  The shack had no water, and the outhouse was a distance from the house.  With 100 mph wind driven snow, a lifeline would be needed to reach the outhouse.  You might also need a torch to warm the seat!  The drive was a good adventure for a day trip though.  I can take my jeep back for summer campouts without any big commitment.

I looked at a lot near a lake with great views.  If I build a house it could be cool, but expensive.  Perhaps when I retire I will have some profit left from my business adventure to do this.  My cousin in South Dakota builds log cabins.  I could do this if I was willing to live on just my Social Security and forget the space adventure.  Then Captain Picard would show up with one more hopeless fight to save the universe…

MY COUSIN’S CABIN BUILDING COMPANY;  BEAR’S DEN HOMES   

CAPTAIN KIRK’S CABIN IN THE NEXXUS?

Now I am ready to consider a small house in town and hope to be able to get another place later on.  If I am careful I might get in a reasonable price range.  There are many cute small houses in town, and they can be very well maintained and decorated.  Some are more charming than others, as they are often nearly 100 years old.  The basements are sometimes dug after the house was built, and may risk collapse.  At best they are usually creepy with spiders and strange wiring. 

Built in 1915?  96 years young.

I have owned five homes and they have all had creepy features.  Remodeling is sometimes used to hide the real nightmares.  I may prefer to buy my own creepy house and do the hiding remodeling myself.  A tiny house is considered a possible rental property, so I may be able to have value even if resale is tough.  A smaller investment is at least a smaller amount at risk.  I can have reserves for business and emergencies at that rate.   

HEY…POSSIBILITIES.  OK, THE HOUSE IS OLDER BUT HAS ALL NEW CONCRETE,

LANDSCAPING, WINDOWS CAR PORT AND DOORS

 ALL NEW APPLIANCES, A/C, FURNACE, WIRING, PLUMBING, ETC

PROFESSIONAL REMODELING WORK?  IT LOOKS LIKE IT

HARDWOOD AND REAL TILE FLOORS WITH FINISHED PORCH.

HOW WOULD IT LOOK WITH…

TASTEFUL FURNISHINGS…

PRETTY COOL!

PORCH AS A RECEPTION AREA FOR EXODUS AEROSPACE?

You guessed by now; I made an offer on the ready to occupy remodeled house.  If I buy cheap I have to do the work, taking away from my business plans.  This was done right by folks who know their business.  

OH YEAH; IT GETS WINDY HERE.  Toto, this might BE Kansas now!

Tornado sirens just went off, but it passed OVER over us before dropping down

WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

