Skip to content

CAPTAIN’S LOG ENTRY EARTH DATE 2300 HRS 04 AUGUST 2012

August 4, 2012

REENTRY

On my way home at last!  Leaving Oshkosh I decided to bypass the Dump station, as about 100 RVs were lined up for the service.  I took full dump tanks but an empty water tank, so only a slight CG shift results.  A short run to Byron Illinois delivered me to my storage unit and my furniture.  I spent the night in a beautiful RV park in Byron.

The new day was another hot one, and some desperate labor, but it all got loaded.  There would be no more RV camping now, as the trailer is full to the top.  What a glorious overload! 

I made it to a friend’s house in Davenport Iowa for an overnight stay.  Thanks Fred; I needed a break after that day of loading!

I got an early start on my last day of driving, but the headwinds were fighting the whole day.  Iowa and Nebraska melted away until I was in Kearney Nebraska, close to the Wyoming border.  One night at Motel 6 got us refreshed for another early start, which we would need.

I was watching the tires, as they were showing cracks of age after 5 years on the road.  Sure enough, one shed a chunk of rubber and showed some steel belts.  I found a tire dealer in Nebraska and got in a fast pit stop for four new tires.  I almost have a new trailer now, one piece at a time! 

The headwinds got harder and the miles dragged on at 55-60 mph top speed.  But slowly the terrain showed more of the rolling forms that would become the mountains of Wyoming.  A wind driven cloud mass confirmed the approach to windy Wyoming.  At least the wind direction would be blowing me north to Wheatland.

I had called ahead for a motel in Wheatland as my tires were being changed.  This gave me a rested start early on Wednesday morning for unpacking.  Now I was reminded of the recent voyage of the Spacex Dragon capsule.

When the ISS crew opened the capsule they described it as smelling “like a new car”.  Well it was a new capsule, a rarity in space operations.  The Space Shuttle was serving for decades, as have the Soyuz capsules.  And those carried more than just cargo; they carried crew members.  So the Dragon had an advantage in not having served to return passengers from months in space.

Reportedly those spacecraft had a bit of an odor problem, as there are no showers in space, unlike “Star Trek”.  I remember laundry from summer camp that had been exposed to wood smoke, and un-showered bodies.  That can be a bit ripe!

This vehicle was new at the beginning of this year, but it has been broken in.  I did have laundry available, but the end of a road trip gets bit less organized.  The press to make deadlines can collect a few dead smelling things along the way.  Smoked fish, Fritos, Iced Tea, peanuts, cookies, dog snacks, soft drinks, burgers, fries, and Pasties all blend in.  Old man and dog top the sensations off when this can got opened up at the end. 

It aint pretty, but the job got done, and we have made a beach head.  The information is gathered, and the materials are loaded into the house.  Remodeling jobs did not all get done while we were gone; so a new crew will be hired to finish the job.  I have a pile of mail and bills to process.  I have a business to incorporate, and more contacts to make.  I have a deadline for a collaboration proposal to the University of Colorado.  The journey is over and a new one is just getting started.

 THE AIRVENTURE ARMADA BREAKING CAMP

 DOWN THE ROCK RIVER TO BYRON ILLINOIS

NICE FOR AN RV PARK! 

MY STORAGE UNIT: LAST IN, FIRST OUT

I WILL HAVE TO GO BACK FOR THE REST!

MY ORGANIZED LOADING

MIGHTY MITE ON THE ROAD

TIRE THIS CLOSE TO A BLOWOUT

 NEW ONES ARE JUSTIFIED I GUESS!

I KNEW THIS WAS WYOMING WITHOUT THE SIGNS!

FOOTHILLS! WESTERN SUNSETS!

FULL MOON ARRIVAL

 LANDING AND…

OPENING…PHEW!

GEAR DOWN!

 AND MOVING IN

 FUTURE OFFICE

AND SOMEPLACE TO SIT AT LAST!

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

