Skip to content

SHAKEDOWN SOAKDOWN

September 12, 2013

ROAD TEST

As fall nears I am getting ready for long range travel with the old “Starship Transport”, my travel trailer.  It has been out of service for six months after nearly a year of wilderness abuse.  I made trips without the trailer to explore the area earlier.  I am enjoying the exploration, but it is valuable for potential aerospace business as well.

We offer unique solutions to aerospace ventures, including a very business friendly environment in Wyoming.  For ventures in our markets the area offers both business and lifestyle adventures.  Either Cheyenne or Laramie could support industry, while offering great lifestyle and recreational opportunities as well.  To me Laramie offers a charming historic district and easy access to outdoor recreation.

I discovered great hiking trails in mountain meadows only minutes east of Laramie.  The surrounding plains are growing new homes and provide a variety of retail services.  If you drive an hour or so west you will find great trout fishing and high alpine mountain camping.  I camped in an RV park right in Saratoga while the fly fishermen were wading right behind our tailgate.  Canoes and drift boats are rented by the bait shop.  Bridge Street is lined with original wood front stores and a classic old Hotel and dining facility.  Saratoga is also famous for their mineral springs, spa and resort.

OK, my reality this time was dampened a bit by non-stop rain.  Fishermen didn’t mind that but folks in Colorado had a lot more trouble with it.  I hope our friends at the University of Colorado Boulder were able to float to the top!  I had a little technical trouble as well.  I faithfully used my checklist to get (almost) everything loaded.  I have a keyboard and mouse that I like when using the laptop.  One tiny ½” square USB receiver was left in the other computer.  I had to use the touch pad, and suffered a few typos and missed clicks as a result.  At least the RV park had Wi-Fi so I didn’t have to set up the satellite dish in the rain.

Between Wheatland and Laramie there is a wildlife research station showcasing Bison, Elk, and Mountain Sheep.  However I saw nearly as much wildlife wandering around the streets of Saratoga and Encampment.  It’s disturbing to see an apparent archery target jump over a fence and run away from a back yard.  Encampment has the backwoods feel I used to see in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.  But you have to drive back to Saratoga to get a full service grocery store.

Grocery store…this one displays a lot of taxidermy on the walls.  That Grizzly is the night security guard.  Beef is really low priced, but can we be sure none of those Elk wound up in the cooler?  I guess I’m a chicken because I resupplied at Walmart in Laramie on my way home.  We tested the equipment, listed the repair needs, and got a lot of great misty photos along the way.  It has been nice after a long hot summer.  Now we are getting back to the mass production of blueprints.

Wyoming has been an interesting education for me.  Coming from Detroit I welcome the warm dry days more than the lingering rain, but even more the vast views and endless sky.  The population of the whole state is less than Detroit, and that’s fine by me.  If you need the big city this corner of Wyoming is only a couple of hours from Denver, and I guarantee you’ll like that better than Detroit.  I think I enjoy “Longmire” more than “Low Winter Sun”.  (Even if it is really filmed in New Mexico)

IMG_0729

LEAVING WHEATLAND, PASSING THE WILDLIFE RESEARCH STATION

IMG_1035

WOOLY BULLY

IMG_0547

TRAILS WEST OF LARAMIE

IMG_0560

PEACEFUL PATH

IMG_0731

FISHING IN THE RV PARK

IMG_0732

TRAIL BOSS

IMG_1180

SARATOGA DOWN TOWN

IMG_1179

HOTEL ON BRIDGE STREET

IMG_1221

ENCAMPMENT HOME

IMG_1223

ENCAMPMENT CHURCH

IMG_0750

GROCERY STORE SECURITY

IMG_0752

USDA CHOICE ELK BOY CUT STEAKS?

IMG_1235

MYSTIC VISTAS

IMG_1261

STILL WATERS

J8

 BACK HOME A DRY PLACE TO BARBECUE…IN THE CARPORT!

J10

AND A SATISFIED CUSTOMER

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

