Skip to content

REENTRY READY

October 9, 2013

LOADING DOCK

After all these practice runs we are loading for a three-month run to Arizona.  I am still generating drawings but parts are already cut and being shipped to the builder now.  I am loading the trailer with tools and materials for building the models.  Like any voyage, clothing and groceries are going in along with business records and computers.  Maps and reservations are coming together, and I should be able to find non-federal camp sites along the way.

Wet weather is threatening so I accelerated the loading schedule a bit.  Last week I washed the car but got caught in a 5 inch wet snow fall that also damaged a lot of trees in town.  At least the inside of the car is still clean!

I donated to an Indygogo funding for a book about the old TV show “Northern Exposure earlier this year.  Actor Darren Burrows played Ed Chigliak and is offering a dinner party for donors in Denver.  I will stay in the area for that and other business in Boulder.  I am re-living the Cicely Alaska Experience in DVD reruns as we travel now.  And I am getting some pretty authentic weather with the videos too!

 IMG_0948

 I WASHED THE CAR…CAN YOU TELL?

IMG_0951

HARD ON TREES BUT GONE THE NEXT DAY

IMG_0974

EVERY INCH FILLED

IMG_0973

WELL, THEY CALL IT A TOY HAULER! 

(At least balsa wood and foam is a little lighter than motorcycles!)

IMG_0969

THE WARDROBE HOLDS CLOTHING AND THE TOOL BOXES BEHIND IT TOO

IMG_0971

EVEN THE HEAD HAS STORAGE DUTY

IMG_0972

UNDER THE BED FILLED UP

IMG_0970

OVERHEAD CABINETS AND EVEN A PANEL OF BLUE FOAM FOR MODEL BUILDING STRAPPED TO THE CEILING.  THIS IS WHAT SPACE TRAVEL WILL REALLY BE LIKE!

If the rains come the heavy loading is done, and I can work indoors on the computer.  The first day of travel will only take 3 or four hours, and I am familiar with camping at the county fairgrounds in Longmont Colorado.  They suffered no flood damage, but I had to get a reservation due to heavy use by displaced family campers.  I should have three or four days of comfort before pushing on to New Mexico.  With Satellite internet I should be able to continue my blog and Facebook postings.

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

