Skip to content

SOLARIS

November 23, 2013

CAPTAIN’S LOG EARTH DATE 23 NOVEMBER 2013

TRANSITION

Since the drawings are delivered to the shop I am in a transition to a new phase.  I am here with my trailer in a community that has abundant trailer maintenance and sales merchants.  I use this time to repair the mobile field office and get tempted to buy a new one.  My old Thor is robust but really overweight and too tall for my tow vehicle.  Yet I cannot find a new one with the same internal storage and quality cabinet work.  So I am protected from the hazards of temptation for now.

IMG_1195

TWO PATENTS DELIVERED!

IMG_1210

BLUEPRINTS DELIVERED!

IMG_1218

FULL SCALE PRINTS

IMG_1219

SO REAL I CAN ALMOST TOUCH IT!

MC ESCHER?

IMG_1230

 LAID OUT IN THE SHOP

IMG_1231

LASER CUT PARTS ALL READY TO PUNCH OUT AND ASSEMBLE

IMG_1693 TOUGHING LIFE OUT IN ARIZONA

IMG_1703

WITH ENTERTAINMENT FROM THE AIR MUSEUM

IMG_1286

CLEANING AND REPAIRS

IMG_1252

A (TOO) SMALL TEMPTATION

IMG_1268

BUT A SMALLER TEMPTATION MAY HAVE BIGGER POTENTIAL

 In the coming months our potential customers may get some activity that could threaten to make me get out of bed and go to work.  The prototypes we developed in the past are still waiting in the wings since the Kickstarter campaign cooled off.  Those could still revive and make me crank out a new generation of prototypes.

For now I have design capacity and a possible need in the area of my mobile field office.  I am discovering assets that could have a lot of use soon.  Instead of buying a new trailer that does not fit the need of our venture I may consider building a custom operations trailer.  Perhaps there could be a market among UAV builders who need an operations trailer.  I am brewing some radical notions in this direction.

One of my partners in this area is an avid fan of the solar power industry.  I don’t really like listening to our generator or smelling the fumes when I am in a beautiful wilderness or the desert test sites.  But I do like the air conditioner!  So now we are looking at a new venture.

I found an all aluminum flat bed trailer with off-road ground clearance.  It only weighs 700 lbs. and has a gross weight capacity of 4,000 lbs.  That would be a full ton less than my present trailer, and it may weigh even less than it’s total capacity.  We are investigating new materials and methods to prototype an aerodynamic solar off road cargo camper.  Check it out!

INTRODUCING SOLARIS

SOL15

HUGE GROUND CLEARANCE

 SOL14

 WITH AN AERODYNAMIC BELLY PAN

SOL26

AERODYNAMIC FORM

SOL4

POWER SOLAR AWNINGS AND A DECK TENT

SOL31

DOING A DESIGN STUDY NOW FOR CABINET PLACEMENT

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

