Skip to content

CAPTAIN’S LOG EARTH DATE 14 DECEMBER 2013

December 14, 2013

BACK TO EARTH?

So why did I come all the way to Arizona to get rain, cold, and diseased?  At least the cold bug has passed and I am getting some new ideas…however fevered.  In my last entry I reported interest in a replacement for my trailer.  Meanwhile, my cargo trailer revealed some weaknesses as it’s paint was destroyed by one Arizona summer.

IMG_1186

Perhaps I can get some practice for bigger things while correcting weaknesses in my cargo trailer capacity.  The little trailer brings my belongings home from Arizona when I slip back up north during the winters.  It saves gas to leave the big unit down south where it doesn’t need to be winterized.  I get great gas mileage without it too!

Now I might improve the weather finish of the small trailer while increasing its ability to take hot and cold weather.  I can also add capacity for overnight camping in the winter along the road.  National forests offer free camping for those with off-road camping capacity.  A bunk and a heater could help me to bypass the motels and extend my light fast camping ability.

It may enable camping in Wyoming where previous camps were destroyed by wind as well.

IMG_7120

NOW YOU SEE IT…

IMG_7123

 NOW YOU DON’T (LARAMIE PEAK)

So I investigated a little camper using my Harbor Freight trailer in place of the wooden cargo box.  The same light aluminum sandwich panels could offer lightweight aluminum protection with high strength.  This was the first fast design study.

B1

AERODYNAMIC

B5

ROOM FOR A FOLDING BED AND CARGO ACCESS

B4

DAY COUCH AND POSSIBILITIES FOR BUILT IN APPLIANCES

B2

  LIGHT, SLEEK, AND VERSATILE

Well it’s a lot smaller than “Solaris” but offers a learning tool and intermediate solutions.  This could be a good winter design and build project.  I will be able to make fast cheap recon camps when cabin fever sets in too.  It also offers shelter in case of snow emergencies along the road to Arizona.  The mountains are full of surprises!

IMG_0830

A light trailer offers a safety factor when 4 wheel drive alone may be challenged.  I hate getting out to chain up!

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

