Skip to content

CAPATIN’S LOG 30 JANUARY 2014

January 31, 2014

NO MORE KIDDIE CAD

Returning from Arizona landed us in the mundane unpacking and getting settled in.  I love having endless hot water instead of a splash and dash in the trailer.  We have a few threats of getting paid looming out there now.  Dang; I might have to get out of bed and go to work!

Well we delivered blueprints and parts and materials to the model builder in Arizona.  Well the blueprints were a dash to the deadline.  We had some bugs in the CAD software on the way there.  We used this tool for ten years so they have done a lot of support along the way.  As more tools and powers are added it must be a challenge to keep things working.

I have a little suspicion that software developers are all having trouble with Windows 8.  Could a secret agent be working within Microsoft to advance Linux?  The CAD program is not the only one going weird.  Programs crash, and some opening folders causes the desktop to crash.  I have been trying other design software tools considering a change.  Even the operating system is a candidate for change if a CAD tool will run on Linux.

When I have deadlines to meet I am extremely intolerant of computer bugs that become totally fatal to the project.  I have no time to help software developers when I am being charged “maintenance” that will not be delivered until the next release.  So I tested the higher priced tools.

One has been and still is obtuse for most users.  Another is functional but destined for a big revision soon.  That firm made a change to their high priced tool a few years back, and the transition didn’t please all of their customers.  Those top design tools cost about $30,000 so I have not seen one since my employment for big firms.  I miss the function of Siemens NX.

NX was USED BY McDonnell Douglas, General Motors, and many major firms.  Formerly known as Unigraphics it is the sensible but unaffordable tool for design engineering.  I would despair of having these tools in ordinary times.  These are not ordinary times.

Perhaps the mid priced CAD tool from Siemens may be struggling to compete in some ways.  Perhaps this is why Siemens is offering a bargain priced version of NX.  I heard an unbelievable price from my former boss and it checked out.  I will run a 60 day free trial, but I expect I will be ready to throw money at them pretty quick.

While waiting for the NX trial I am doing some new feasibility studies for other ventures.  I hope to deliver some interesting concepts in a timely manner.  I did get a lot of components ready for use.  A new vehicle concept was taking shape when the CAD software went nuts.  For now I can’t create any new parts or re-name old ones.  We are dead in space.

The tech support was fast to respond, but it is still time consuming and we are stopped in the middle of a project.  So in a couple of days I will welcome the trial seat of NX.  The big decision now will be whether to venture into Linux operating system.  My desktop will be entirely off the internet and isolated from Chinese and NSA reviews.  Sorry boys!

Does anyone have any views on Linux use?  NX can run on it so I will only need a few other tools on the desktop computer.  If it works out I may cleanse my life of Microsoft Windows-hate.  (aggravate, irritate, overrate)

Well we are home, and the wheels are resting in their roost.

IMG_1647

BACK IN HER NEST

IMG_1650

SEE THE CHANGE?   SNOW!!

IMG_1649

WHERE DID ALL THOSE PALM TREES GO?

IMG_1645

HEY…I RESEMBLE THAT REMARK!

D1

LOW END CAD WORKS…AT TIMES

SW1

BUT MORE EXPENSIVE TOOLS TEMPT WITH FANCY RENDERING

VENDOR PARTS

LITTLE JOBS ON THE SIDE…VENDOR PARTS COLLECTION

NK39A

WHAT IS IT?  the ultimate hair dryer?

NK33B

…A POOR IMAGE OF THIS

WHICH IS THE POWER FOR MOST OF AMERICAS ROCKETS…

A RUSSIAN ROCKET ENGINE.

Perhaps new space initiatives can rescue space from government red tape.  It seems to be turning into a world effort lately.  American rockets with Russian engines, an international space station, perhaps we can have a Federation of Planets.

I am letting my in-ine staging take a slow track while helping others get their visions airborne.  You can follow our interest in airborne access to space on our horizontal launch blog:  http://horizontalspace.wordpress.com/

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

