Skip to content

CAPTAIN’S LOG STARDATE -308715.0803209031

April 15, 2014

Hey…it’s just before midnight on April 14th 2014!

We are learning the meaning of spring.  Spring is a thing that bounces; warm, cold, warm, cold…

Well, I had no takers for a star party in Arizona, so here I am waiting for the Mars and Blood Moon show to begin in Wyoming.  It’s not the desert, but Wyoming has lots of dark skies.  In fact, light pollution is minimal even here in town.  We are surrounded by a sea of grass and mountains.  I am shooting the moon with a Canon SX50HS sitting on the top of my trailer.  The guest list tonight includes a galaxy of stars.  The moon and mars will be close together and little Spica will share the stage.  I may be able to find Saturn in our shooting gallery too.

 M&M2014

 My efforts to initiate Siemens NX computer drafting software has been extremely slow.  I hired computer “experts” in Cheyenne to install a new operating system, only to have two incorrect packages installed.  Now the tech support at Siemens has suggested that I simply install Windows 7 which is much easier to configure.  OK, I will eat a little crow and get production up to speed.

IMG_1959 

I will initiate a clean sheet design for all of my projects, leaving previous CAD files in the past.  The heart of these designs is in the mind of the designer.  The concepts will not become hardware until the models and blueprints have lasting integrity possible only with quality tools.

IMG_2041

MOON, SPICA AND MARS

 The first moon images are coming in pretty good now.  We are blessed with a real star party night here with a cold high pressure night sky.  Well, Star Trek will have to be paused while I go outside for another photo session.  Watching online television shows allows me to stop and re-start them as needed.  Computer: freeze program…I always wanted to say that!

IMG_1973

SPRING LIFE ON EARTH

 Well a few more photos round out the night so I can come back into the warmth of the house.  Computer: un-freeze photographer!

 IMG_2022

HERE’S A CHILLING SIGHT:  THE BLOOD RED MOON!

IMG_2049

AND AMONG THE STARS; LITTLE MARS

IMG_2051

WHILE THE MOON STEALS THE SHOW

Well, we missed the Space Access conference in Phoenix, and the celebration of Yuri Gagarin’s first (?) spaceflight they usually celebrate there.  Now I find there may have been another man in space before Yuri.  http://www.hulu.com/watch/536721  Wow, things are changing!

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

