Skip to content

CAPTAIN’S LOG STARDATE -308572.8082508879 (5 JUN 2014)

June 15, 2014

LIFTOFF: THE COST

Sometimes the best way to success is to help someone else to bring their dreams to life.  After delivering a few hours of drafting for another horizontal launch proposal I may find a few more hours of work ahead.   Triton Systems of Houston had a meeting scheduled but I usually wouldn’t drive that far to participate.

Was I just bored, or did I really need to go to a meeting in Houston?  I know what the cost of travel is, and try to avoid expenses.  However I could participate in a historical first if the customer is able to move ahead.  Another factor provided some motivation though.  My trailer was stored at my friend’s house and he had to move to a new location pronto.  I had to get my trailer out of his way in Mesa Arizona.  Now I had a panic/hope motivation to get moving quickly.

 IMG_1935

DOG AND I WEREN’T HIGHLY MOTIVATED TO MOVE.

IMG_1953

BUT WE HAD TO GET OUT OF DODGE QUICKLY.

IMG_1956

SO WE PACKED CLOTHES AND GROCERIES THAT NIGHT

IMG_1958

AND ROLLED SOUTH OUT OF WYOMING THE NEXT MORNING.

IMG_2065

 THROUGH WYOMING, COLORADO, NEW MEXICO AND ARIZONA

IMG_2090

PAST THE NATIONAL RADIO ASTRONOMY ARRAY

IMG_1965

TO MOTEL 6 IN SANTA FE NEW MEXICO

IMG_1980

TO LOAD THE TRAILER IN MESA ARIZONA

IMG_1981

WORKING IN 103 DEGREE HEAT I FELL INTO THESE

IMG_1979

AND GOT A LOT OF THESE IN ME

IMG_1982

AND FOUND ANOTHER REPAIR WAITING FOR ME

IMG_1983

AND FINALLY GOT BACK ON THE ROAD TO TEXAS

IMG_1993

 WE MADE A LOT OF GAS AND REST STOPS.

IMG_2121

AND BURNED UP THE ROAD

IMG_2128

PAST ALAMOGORDO NEW MEXICO

IMG_2139

AND KEPT GOING PAST EL PASO FOR 12 HOURS

IMG_1989

TO STOP IN VAN HORN TEXAS…

IMG_1991

IN A REALLY LAID BACK RV PARK…(GUEST BUGGY)

IMG_1988

GAS STATIONS WERE SCARCE AND I USED THE GAS CAN ONCE!

IMG_1994

IN COMFORT TEXAS WE HAD A MORE RELAXED EARLY STOP

IMG_2155

AND ENJOYED TEXAS HILL COUNTRY SCENERY

IMG_1998

HOUSTON WAS “ONLY” 95 DEGREES AND STEAMY

IMG_1999

NOT UNLIKE CAMPING IN VIETNAM

IMG_2013

 I DID HAVE A FEW DAYS TO RELAX AND COOK IN CAMP THOUGH.

IMG_2008

 AND THE MEETING PROMISES GOOD THINGS TO COME.

From → NEW SPACE

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

